Einki úrslit
Previous page
Next page

Places

/

Galleries & Museums

/

Húsini við Brunn - Village museum

Húsini við Brunn – The House by the Well – the oldest part of which dates back to the late 1600s, was originally built from driftwood. The eastern part of the house, made from a single log purchased at an auction from the “Saksunarskipið” (shipwrecked in Saksun in 1828), was added by Gamli Jáki in 1828. This log, made of Pomeranian pine, was towed to Nólsoy by Gamli Jáki over the span of 18 hours.

Historically, the house was a sought-after spot for visitors, including King Frederik VIII of Denmark in 1907, who visited to see the renowned byre at Brunn. Visitors who requested to stay in the house were always welcomed and invited into the best parlour through the upper door.

The house, with its rich history, includes several outbuildings for various activities such as sheep farming, fishing, and peat cutting. It is a place where the story of Nólsoy’s past unfolds, with countless artifacts telling the tale of village life and life abroad in days gone by. The same family has lived at Brunn for over 300 years.

Húsini við Brunn is managed by Nólsoyar Forminnisfelag, led by Vígdis Bjarnadóttir.

For more details, visit: BRUNN MUSEUM, NÓLSOY

Open by appointment via Visit Nólsoy tourist office at Ovasavnið.

Location

Pálsgøta 11
270 Nólsoy

 

Opening Hours

By appointment via Visit Nólsoy

 

Contact

Visit Nólsoy
+298 52 70 60
info@nolsoy.fo